Five graduates at Texas A&M University-Kingsville's winter commencement ceremony received the Distinguished Undergraduate Student Award sponsored by the Student Government Association.

Only one bachelor's degree student from each college receives the award. To be nominated, a student must be a graduating senior with no less than 60 credit hours earned at Texas A&M-Kingsville. The student must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and must be involved in extracurricular activities. The student also must have the endorsement of the dean of the college from which he/she receives a degree.

This summer's recipients are Johnny Edward Stevens Jr., of Odem, Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences; Erin K. Wise, of Palacios, College of Business Administration; Joshua Jordan Ortegon, of Kingsville, Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering; Kristella Monique Laso, of Alice, College of Education and Human Performance; and Morgan Hunter, of Odem, College of Arts and Sciences. Shown from left, Stevens; Hunter; Wise; Dr. Terisa Riley, senior vice president fiscal and student affairs; Laso and Ortegon.